Pierce, Snohomish counties approved for Phase 2 reopening; King County granted modified Phase 1

CAMP MURRAY, Wash. -- Five more counties in Washington - including the second and third most populous counties in the state - are moving to Phase 2 of the state's county-by-county plan to reopen the economy, the state health department announced Friday.Clark, Okanogan, Pierce, Skagit, Snohomish and Whatcom counties are approved to move from Phase 1 to Phase 2.King County was approved to move into a modified version of Phase 1.Seven counties -- Columbia, Ferry, Garfield, Lincoln, Pend Oreille, Stevens and Wahkiakum -- are approved to move from Phase 2 to Phase 3.Here's a breakdown of where the state stands as of midday Friday:

Six counties have applied to move to Phase 3 of reopening

OLYMPIA, Wash. — The governor's office says that six counties have applied to move to the third phase of Washington state’s four-stage reopening plan that eases COVID-19 restrictions and allows businesses to start to reopen.Applications have been submitted for Ferry, Stevens, Pend Oreille, Lincoln, Columbia, and Wahkiakum counties.