Seahawks vote Kam Chancellor as Steve Largent Award winner for second time

SEATTLE – Kam Chancellor was awarded the Steve Largent Award on Thursday night.

It wasn’t the first time.

The Seattle Seahawks’ strong safety earned the award for the second time in three years, and the Hall of Fame receiver was at CenturyLink Field to make the presentation.

"Kam exemplifies true leadership on the field and in the locker room," Largent said. "His passion and on-field play reinforce the definition of the Seahawks."

The awarded is voted on by the players, and is intended for “ the contributor(s) best exemplifying the spirit, dedication, and integrity of former Seahawk wide receiver Steve Largent.”

The only player to win the award more times is former Seahawks fullback Mack Strong, who won it five times.

Richard Sherman won last year.